26th Annual General Meeting

Thursday, 13 September 2018 10:02

The 26th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Singapore Business Group HCMC (SBG) was held on Thursday 13th September 2018 at the spectacular Le Meridien Saigon with their venue sponsorship.

It was our absolute honor to welcome our guest of honor - Ms. Leow Siu Lin – the Consul-General of the Consulate – General of The Republic of Singapore in Ho Chi Minh City. The event also received a strong support from 83 attendees including 71 SBG members.

The AGM progressed in three sections starting with the welcome address by Mr. Norman Lim - President of SBG. He had summarized SBG’s overall operation situation during the term of two years from September 2016 till September 2018. It by then followed by the report presentation by SBG’s Honorary Secretary – Mr. Jeffery Lee. His presentation covered the activities of the organization during the Term 2016-2018 includes SBG current team and organization structure, membership status, events listing, SBG’s partnerships and updates on EdFund programme that was revived by SBG recently. He also briefly introduced about the MOU between SBG and UOB that will be signed after the AGM to offer extra benefits for SBG members in the new term.

The event continued with the financial report from Mr. Jason Yeo – SBG’s Honorary Treasurer. He presented the Financial Statements & updates on EdFund. The statistics have reflected that 2016-2018 was a fruitful term for SBG when the balance increment is now 85.8% compared to last year. The members attending the meeting passed the Annual Report and the Financial Statements without objections.


The most important part of the event was the Executive Committee voting to serve in the term 2018/2020. Due to the number of high requests from SBG members, the constitution now allowed up to maximum 15 positions of Executive Committee members (not including the positions of President, Vice Presidents, Hon. Secretary and Hon. Treasurer).

Mr. Norman Lim, Mr. Seck Yee Chung, Mr. Daniel Lim and Mr. Dixon Oh were re-appointed to be SBG’s President and Vice Presidents respectively.

Other positions were nominated and elected as follows:






Norman Lim

Metkraft Ltd (A Fisher Barton Company)


Vice President

Seck Yee Chung

Baker & McKenzie Vietnam Limited


Vice President

Dixon Oh

Eagle Trading & Logistics Co Ltd

Managing Director

Vice President

Daniel Lim

RSP Architects Planners & Engineers

General Director

Honorary Secretary

Jeffery Lee

A8 Resource Co Ltd


Honorary Treasurer

Jason Yeo

United Overseas Bank VN

Head, Channels & Digitalization

Committee Member

Ajay Hiralal Panot

Raptakos, Brett & Co Ltd

General Manager

Committee Member

Soo Teck Lam

The Rep Office of Borouge Pte., Ltd


Chief Representative Vietnam

Committee Member

Ken Ang

United Paints


Committee Member

Soo Tek Lam

Borouge Representative Office of

HCMC Pte Ltd

Chief Representative

Committee Member

Derrick Lim

Trends & Technologies Inc. Vietnam

Business Development Manager

Committee Member

Kelvin Ang

KML Transport Logistics Co., Ltd

Business Development Manager

Committee Member

Terry Tan

Leong Lee International Ltd


Committee Member

Calvin Yau

Funan Securities Corporation (FSC)

Executive Chairman

Committee Member

Lincoln Tan

Nishimura Asahi HCMC Office

Foreign Attorney

Committee Member

Abraham Y. Elias



Committee Member

Nguyen Minh Ngoc

Stoxplus JSC

Marketing and Business Development Manager

To conclude the AGM, Mr. Norman Lim, on SBG’s behalf, extended the appreciation to out-going committee members for their contribution and look forward to continuing to receive support from SBG members in the coming new term.

The AGM continued with the MOU signing ceremony between SBG and UOB for the Privilege Banking Program for SBG members represented by Mr. Norman Lim (SBG) and Mr. Fred Lim (UOB). There was also a short introduction presentation given by Mr. The Vu (UOB) to introduce about the program so SBG members are more aware of the new benefit that they are now entitled to with no surcharge.

The event ended with a networking session where all participants mingled together to meet and welcome the new Executive Committee members and a new progressive term of 2018-2020.