24th Annual General Meeting

Tuesday, 27 September 2016 14:43

Saturday, 24th September 2016 – The 24th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Singapore Business Group – Ho Chi Minh City (SBG) was held at the Pullman Saigon Centre.

Saturday, 24th September 2016 – The 24th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Singapore Business Group – Ho Chi Minh City (SBG) was held at the Pullman Saigon Centre.

Ms Haliza Begum and Mr. Alvin Tay, representing the Consulate – General of The Republic of Singapore in Ho Chi Minh City, and almost 40 of our members, participated in our AGM.

Photo: Mr Norman Lim (President of SBG) was giving the opening speech at the AGM.

The AGM progressed in three sections. The first section began with the welcome address by Mr. Norman Lim, President at SBG. He summarised SBG’s overall operation situation during the Term of one year from September 2015 till September 2016.

Subsequently, Mr. Jeffery Lee, SBG’s Honorary Secretary, made a precise presentation of the activities of the organization during the Term 2015/2016 include membership status, event listing, SBG’s collaborations and updates on Executive Committee members. He also extended appreciation to past long-serving members of the Executive Committee such as Mr Ho Sze Ming, Ms Tarnie Liew and Mr Michael Williams. Unfortunately the Certificates of Appreciation from OSU in Singapore did not arrive in time for the AGM. Hence a presentation ceremony will be held in a future Raffles Night event.

After which Mr Andy Lim, acting as the SBG’s Honorary Secretary, presented the Financial Statements & updates on Edfund. Mr. Andy Lim stepped into this position temporarily owing to Mr. Chia Guo Xing’s posting out of Vietnam. The members attending the meeting passed the Annual Report and the Financial Statements without objections.


Photos: Mr Jeffery Lee (Honorary Secretariat of SBG) was presenting the Annual Report

In the second section, Mr Jeffery Lee, on behalf of the preceding Executive Committee, tabled proposals to amend the SBG’s constitution and the SBG’s annual membership rates. Many questions, suggestions and personal opinions were given by the members that fine-tuned the most relevant and effective approaches to revise the proposals. After the members’ discussion, particular articles in the constitution would be revised appropriately to the current situation and improve operational efficiency. In addition, the SBG membership fees are adjusted with the approval of members as follows:




Corporate membership

USD $450

Remove the one time entrance fee $50 (change the constitution)

Ordinary membership

USD $160


Associate membership

USD $180

Remove the one time entrance fee $30 (change the constitution)

Spouse membership

USD $30


The final section of the AGM was the election of the new Executive Committee to serve in the Term 2016/2018.

Mr. Norman Lim was re-appointed to be President. Other positions were nominated and elected as follows:






Norman Lim

Metkraft Ltd (A Fisher Barton Company)

Vice President, Sales, Asia  

Vice - President

Seck Yee Chung

Baker & McKenzie Vietnam Limited


Vice - President

Dixon Oh

Eagle Trading & Logistics Co Ltd

Managing Director

Vice - President

Daniel Lim

RSP Architects Planners & Engineers

General Director

Honorary Secretary

Jeffery Lee

A8 Resource Co Ltd


Honorary Treasurer

Andy Lim



Committee Member

Ajay Hiralal Panot

Raptakos, Brett & Co Ltd

Managing partner

Committee Member

Nguyen Thi Thu Huong

Wilsons Hill

Merchandising Manager

Committee Member

Ken Ang

United Paint

To be updated

Committee Member

Lousia Lyn

Groupe Seb Vietnam

General Director

Committee Member

Soo Tek Lam

Borouge Representative Office of HCMC Pte Ltd

Chief Representative

Committee Member

Willie Peh




Photo: The new Executive Committee members - Term 2016/2018

In concluding the AGM, Mr. Norman Lim, on SBG’s behalf, extended the appreciation to out-going committee members for their contribution and look forward to continuing to receive support from SBG members in the coming new term.

The AGM ended with the tea session where all participants mingled together to meet and welcome the new Executive Committee members and a new progressive Term 2016/2018!

Click here for more photos!